Homes in St Helena are under flood waters. (Image: ABRAHAM DIAZ)

The Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government is reporting that officers from Disaster Management Units in various Regional Corporations and Borough Councils, have been conducting assessments in those areas seriously affected by yesterday’s adverse weather activity and resultant flooding crisis.

According to the Ministry, relief efforts began last evening for areas and communities in which it was safe to proceed.

This morning, Chaguanas Borough DMU Officers were conducting assessments in Edinburgh 500, as well as in the Las Lomas/Cunupia District, following reports of persons being impacted by flooding caused by rising waters overnight.

Homes in St Helena are under flood waters. (Image: ABRAHAM DIAZ)

The Ministry notes that both Suchit Trace and Debe Trace were impassable this morning due to flood water.  The alternative route is via SS Erin Road.

The Ministry says although rainfall has ceased, water levels remain very high in most major rivers, and those, too, are being assessed.

Several areas across the country remain under floodwaters, with the challenge worsening with high tide earlier this morning.  There have been reports of smaller water courses being filled with flooding in low lying areas, while major rivers, largely contained at this time, are being closely monitored.

The Ministry warns that soil in many areas remains saturated from rainfall over the past few days and the water table remains high and is advising those living in hilly areas to be alert to the possibility of landslides.

Meanwhile, the Riverine Flood Alert/ORANGE Level issued yesterday by the Met Service remains in effect, until 6:00 pm today, barring further developments.

Trinidad remains under a Riverine Flood Alert/ORANGE Level, until 6 pm on Thursday 19 August 2021. Image courtesy Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service (TTMS).


■   Arima Borough Corporation                                          800-2ABC (2222)

■   Chaguanas Borough Corporation                                 800-DCBC (3222)

■   Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation        800-CTTC (2882)

■   Diego Martin Regional Corporation                              800-DMRC (3672)

■   Penal/Debe Regional Corporation                                 800-PDRC (7372)

■   Point Fortin Regional Corporation                                800-PFBC (7322)

■   Princes Town Regional Corporation                             800-PTRC (7872)

■   Port of Spain City Corporation                                      800-PSCC (7722)

■   San Fernando City Corporation                                    800-SCDU (7238)

■   Sangre Grande Regional Corporation                          800-SGRC (7472)

■   San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation                  800-SLRC (7572)

■   Siparia Regional Corporation                                        800-4SRC (4772)

■   Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation                      800-4MRC (4672)

■   Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation                      800-TPRC (8772)