Members of the newly appointed SEA Committee received their instruments of appointment from Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley at the Diplomatic Centre today.
According to the Office of the Prime Minister, the committee’s directive is to “review and recommend changes to the conduct of the Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA) and transition to secondary school.

During the ceremony, Dr Rowley said that “this assignment will not be treated as another document, but it will be treated as instructions for change”.

The report of the Committee will form part of the Ministry of Education’s Education Policy 2022-2027, which will focus on eight main areas: TVET (Technical and Vocational Education and Training) Revitalization, curriculum reform, digital transformation, amendment of the education act, equity in quality education, the transition of learners through our education systems, enabling student success and human resource development.

The Prime Minister also announced his intention to take the completed report to the Parliament as a green paper for further discussion. The Committee has been given nine months to complete the report.

Also joining the ceremony was Minister of Education, Dr the Hon Nyan Gadsby-Dolly and Minister in the Ministry of Education, the Hon Lisa Morris Julian.

The Committee comprises of :

  • Rev. Joy Abdul Mohan
  • Ms. Antonia Teka- De Freitas
  • Ms. Sherra Carrington – James
  • Dr. Peter Smith
  • Professor Jerome De Lisle
  • Dr. Ruby Alleyne
  • Dr. Joanne Spence
  • Ms. Naima Hosein
  • Ms. Carlene Hayes
  • Ms. Zena Ramatali
  • Mr. Haji Imtiaz Ali
  • Pundit Omadath Navin Maharaj
  • Ms. Sonia Mahase-Persad
  • Mr. Phillip Anthony Rochford
  • Ms. Nadine John – St. Rose
  • Ms. Bernadine Dick
  • Mr. Lance Mottley
  • Mr. Kwesi Atiba
  • Mr. Harrilal Seecharan
  • Mr. Marlon Seales