Workers of the Penal Debe Regional corporation organizing sand bags for persons affected by floods. (Image: RISHI RAGOONATH)

The Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government says its Disaster Management Units (DMUs) are working feverishly on the ground in their communities, responding to reports of flooding and other damage that has resulted from more than 12 hours of non-stop rain.

The Ministry says there have been several reports of flash flooding and localized ponding, and shared the updated DMU reports in its social media pages.

  • Street flooding at the southern end of Viera Street, by the Eastern Main Road, East Port of Spain (currently impassable)
  • One report of a Landslide, North Coast Road (This is currently being cleared)
  • One report of a landslide at Irish Crescent, Glencoe
  • Street Flooding at the main entrance to Oasis Greens, Chaguanas (currently impassable)
  • Reports of flash flooding in Chaguanas along the Main Road as well as Longdenville, Endeavour, Lange Park in the vicinity of Charles Street, Edinburgh 500 in the vicinity of Robin Crescent and Montrose in the vicinity of La Clave Street   
  • Report of flash flooding along the Eastern Main Road in Tunapuna
  • One report of flash flooding in Claxton Bay along Cedar Hill Road
  • Street flooding at Scott Street, San Fernando
  • One report of flash flooding along Golconda Connector Road, Union Hall (VMCOTT).
  • One report of flash flooding In Barrackpore along Rochard Road
  • One report of flash flooding in In La Brea along Southern Main Road, Guapo
  • One report of a landslide at Siparia Old Road, in the vicinity of Robert Hill Trace
  • Reports of flash flooding in Cumuto
  • One report of a landslide at Kumar Road, Valencia

Members of the public are reminded of the hotline numbers for Disaster Management Units (DMUs) in their respective Regional Corporations and Borough Councils.

– Arima Borough Corporation 800-2ABC (2222)

– Chaguanas Borough Corporation 800- DCBC (3222)

– Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation 800 – CTTC (2882)

– Diego Martin Regional Corporation 800 – DMRC (3672)

– Penal/Debe Regional Corporation 800 – PDRC (7372)

– Point Fortin Regional Corporation 800 – PFBC (7322)

– Princes Town Regional Corporation 800 – PTRC (7872)

– Port of Spain City Corporation 800- PSCC (7722)

– San Fernando City Corporation 800 – SCDU (7238)

– Sangre Grande Regional Corporation 800 – SGRC (7472)

– San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation 800 – SLRC (7572)

– Siparia Regional Corporation 800 – 4SRC (4772)

– Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation 800 – 4MRC (4672)

– Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation 800 – TPRC (8772)