Photo courtesy THA Dr Denise Tsoiafatt-Angus- new Chairman of the Tobago Festivals Commission's board

Dr Denise Angus-Tsoiafatt is now Chairman of the Tobago Festivals Commission’s new board of directors.
This, according to a statement from the Division of Tourism, Culture, and Transportation.

Angus-Tsoiafatt, a former Tobago House of Assembly (THA) councillor and Secretary of Community Development and Culture, also held the post of Presiding Officer in the THA’s 2017-2021 term.

She resigned as Presiding Officer to contest the post of leader in the internal election of the People’s National Movement Tobago Council, earlier this year.

According to the Tourism Division’s press statement, the instruments of appointment were given to the new board members at a virtual meeting held on Friday, May 1, by councillor and Tourism Secretary Nadine Phillips-Stewart.

Penelope Williams, who served on the previous board, retained her position as Deputy Chairman.

Other members of the board who have retained their positions are Shane Andrews – director, Anthony Arnold Jnr. -director and Kieron McDougall -director. The new members are John Arnold, Cindy Lou Edwards, Derry Trotman.

Louis Lewis was retained as an ex-officio member. He is joined by Cheryl Duncan.

The new board will decide if and how the annual Tobago Heritage Festival and Tobago Blue Food Festival will be celebrated, the release said.

The former board, which was led by Dr. Suzanne Burke, was fraught with problems. Three members -Laurel Broomes-Rogers, Dr. Burke, and Dr. Verleen Bobb-Lewis, resigned from the board before completing their full one- year term.

Reporter: Camille McEachnie