Independent Senators appointed by President

The Office of the President has confirmed that nine Independent Senators have been appointed to serve in Parliament, by the President.

An official statement from the Office of the President notes that “Her Excellency Paula-Mae Weekes O.R.T.T., President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday August 19 2020, appointed the 9 Independent Senators. The 16 Government Senators selected by the Prime Minister have also been appointed.”

According to the release, attorney-at-law Sophia Chote S.C. was not re-appointed an Independent Senator, as she was unavailable for consideration. She has been replaced by Evans Welch, attorney-at-law. All other appointees are the same as those who served in the 11th Parliament.

The nine Independent Senators appointed to serve in the 12th Parliament are: Evans Welch, Paul Richards, Dr Varma Deyalsingh, Anthony D. Vieira, Amrita Deonarine, Hazel Thompson-Ahye, Charrise Seepersad, Maria Dillon-Remy and Deoroop Teemal.