President Paula-Mae Weekes lays a wreath at the Cenotaph at the Red House.

President Paula-Mae Weekes, President of the Senate, Christine Kangaloo, and Speaker of the House of Representatives, Bridgid Mary Annisette-George today laid wreaths at the Red House Cenotaph in solemn remembrance of those who lost their lives as a result of the events on July 27th, 1990.

On that day, the country’s Parliament was besieged by insurgents who attempted to destroy the country’s democracy, but they were eventually thwarted.

The laying of wreaths was preceded by a small marching formation involving officers of Parliamentary Police Unit, and it was followed by the playing of the “Last Post” by a bugler from the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, and a minute of silence.

The Parliament pays tribute to those who lost their lives, the hostages and those who suffered directly or indirectly as a result of the events of July 27th to August 1st, 1990.

Among the hostages at the Red House were the constitutionally elected Prime Minister, other Members of Parliament, and staff and visitors in the building.

Those who lost their lives were:

*M.P. for Diego Martin Central, Leo Des Vignes;

*Assistant Superintendent of Police, Roger George; *Clerical Officer, Loraine Caballero;

*Customs and Excise Officer and former Police Officer, Arthur Guiseppi;

*Special Reserve Police Officer, Solomon McLeod (killed at Police Headquarters);

*Estate Policeman, Malcolm Basanta;

*Chauffeur, George Francis; and

*Government Broadcasting Unit Employee, Mervyn Teague.

The Parliament acknowledged the yeoman service of those men and women whose united efforts preserved our highest institution of democracy during and after those tumultuous days, including members of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, the Defence Force, members of the media and thousands of patriotic citizensm.

The first wreath-laying ceremony took place on the first anniversary of the attempted coup on July 27th, 1991.