Brathwaite calls out umpires after ‘dodgy’ decisions

Date: 
Friday, June 7, 2019 - 06:15

NOT­TING­HAM —West In­dies all-rounder Car­los Brath­waite is frus­trat­ed over the “dodgy” um­pir­ing dur­ing his side's 15-run loss to Aus­tralia and is al­so ques­tion­ing why his team does not get as many lbw de­ci­sions as their op­po­nents.

West In­dies over­turned four calls by the two um­pires in Thurs­day’s match at Trent Bridge, in­clud­ing two in three balls against open­er Chris Gayle in the third over of the in­nings by Aussie pac­er Mitchell Starc.

The ball that trapped Gayle lbw in the fol­low­ing over from Starc should have been a free hit be­cause of a no-ball by the Aus­tralia pace­man in the pre­vi­ous de­liv­ery that um­pire Chris Gaffaney missed.

“I don’t know if I’ll be fined for say­ing it,” Brath­waite said, “but I just think that the um­pir­ing was a bit frus­trat­ing. Even when we were bowl­ing, we thought a few balls close to head height were called wides.

“And ob­vi­ous­ly three de­ci­sions ... as far as I can re­mem­ber be­ing dodgy, it was frus­trat­ing and sent rip­ples through the dress­ing room. To lose Chris in a chase of 280, who can prob­a­bly get 180 of them him­self ob­vi­ous­ly, broke the start that we want­ed to have. But the um­pires do their job. They try to do it to the best of their abil­i­ty, we as play­ers go out there to do our job as well.”

Gayle was giv­en out on what should have been a free hit in one of sev­er­al ques­tion­able calls by um­pires Chris Gaffaney and Ruchi­ra Pal­liyagu­ruge dur­ing the West In­dies’ chase.

Gayle made 21 off 17 de­liv­er­ies be­fore he was giv­en out lbw to Starc, whose york­er struck the open­er low on the back foot. Gayle re­viewed for the third time in his short in­nings, but the re­play showed the ball clip­ping leg stump and the de­ci­sion was up­held.

But a tele­vi­sion re­play showed that Starc had clear­ly over­stepped on the pre­vi­ous de­liv­ery and if Gaffaney had cor­rect­ly called the no-ball, the wick­et de­liv­ery would have been a free hit.

Gayle’s first re­view came in the third over when he drove late at Starc and was giv­en caught be­hind by Gaffaney. But, in­cred­i­bly, the dis­tinct sound of ball on wood did not come from Gayle’s bat but from the ball shav­ing the stumps, which failed to dis­lodge the bails. Two balls lat­er, Gayle was giv­en lbw to an­oth­er Starc york­er but the de­ci­sion was over­turned once again when the DRS showed the ball pitch­ing out­side leg stump and go­ing down the leg side. Dur­ing Starc’s next over Gayle made his third re­view but it was un­suc­cess­ful. It was the first time a bats­man has re­viewed three times in a sin­gle ODI in­nings.

Pal­liyagu­ruge lat­er had two on-field de­ci­sions over­turned. The first was re­viewed by Ja­son Hold­er when he was giv­en out lbw sweep­ing to Glenn Maxwell, the ball just pitch­ing out­side leg. Hold­er suc­cess­ful­ly re­viewed once more, at­tempt­ing to sweep Adam Zam­pa, with ball-track­er show­ing the ball would have com­fort­ably missed leg stump.

Brath­waite al­so de­liv­ered a cut­ting as­sess­ment of of­fi­ci­at­ing in gen­er­al.

“I just think that for West In­dies, we don’t have to use all our re­views and that some of the oth­er teams get a chance to use theirs be­cause every time we get hit on our pad, the fin­ger goes up,” he said.

“When we hit the op­po­si­tion on their pad, the fin­ger stays down. So we have to use our re­views and it’s al­ways miss­ing and then we have to use our re­views when we’re bat­ting as well and it’s al­ways clip­ping. I’m not a tech­nol­o­gy per­son, I don’t know why that hap­pens. I can just say what I have seen hap­pen over the past few years.”

He ad­mit­ted, how­ev­er, that the re­moval of Gayle wasn’t the sole rea­son the West In­dies failed to chase down Aus­tralia’s 288 but not­ed it didn’t help.

“We had eight oth­er wick­ets af­ter that and it was in­cum­bent on us to go out there and de­liv­er a per­for­mance which we didn’t for what­ev­er rea­sons,” he said.

“We will dis­cuss and try to rec­ti­fy for the next game. Did it ham­per the start? It def­i­nite­ly did but it didn’t cost us the game.”

Category: