EBC Chairman Dr Norbert Masson retires

Sunday, December 6, 2015 - 20:00

Chairman of the Elections and Boundaries Commission, Dr Norbert Masson has retired.

Dr Masson spent his last day the EBC on Friday after over 30 years with the Commission. 

He spent 10 of those years as its Chairman and presided over the work of the Commission for the General Elections of 2007, 2010 and 2015.

Dr Masson is the holder of two national awards, the Medal of Merit (Gold) 1984 and the Chaconia Medal (Gold) 2000.

He was also the Chairman of the Association of Caribbean Electoral Organizations (2010-2011).

As at April 2015, he has given more than 50 years of service to this country.

Prior to joining the EBC his service included;

Regional Technical Trainee, United British Oilfields of Trinidad and Tobago, Point Fortin
Shell Scholar (UBOT)
Exploitation Engineer, Shell Trinidad Limited
Principal John S. Donaldson Technical Institute
Director, Metrication Board, Ministry of Industry and Commerce
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Community Development and Youth Affairs, Government of Trinidad and Tobago
Director, Institute of Marine Affairs

A new chairman has not as yet been chosen.