PM appoints committee to review Petrotrin operations

Monday, March 13, 2017 - 17:15

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has presented instruments of appointment to a seven-member committee tasked with conducting a review of the operations of the Petroleum Company Limited (Petrotrin).

The appointment follows a Cabinet decision made on February 23rd 2017, to review operations at the company in light of falling revenues, allegations of mismanagement and decreasing oil prices worldwide.

The committee is tasked with making recommendations for restructuring of the company and its first report is scheduled to be submitted on June 1st 2017.

The committee will be chaired by Mr. Selwyn Lashley, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Energy & Energy Affairs.

Other members are as follows:

Professor Chandrabhan Sharma, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, University of the West Indies
Ms. Helen Drayton, former Independent Senator
Mr. Robert Riley, Head of Safety and Operational Risk, Competency and Capability Development at the BP Group in London and former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of BPTT
Mr. Wilfred Espinet, AeroMarine Trinidad Limited
Mr. Gregory Marchan, Representative of the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU)
Mr. David Abdullah, Representative of the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU)