PM receives Petrotrin status report

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley today received a status report from the Petrotrin board detailing the progress made in the months since its appointment in September, the Office of the Prime Minister said.

The meeting featured discussions on the various options available as work continues towards restructuring the State-owned company.

The Prime Minister's Office said that throughout 2017 Government continued its systematic review of the operations at Petrotrin.

In June 2017 that Prime Minister Rowley received a comprehensive report from the Petrotrin Review Committee which he appointed in March 2017.

The establishment of the Petrotrin Review Committee followed a Cabinet decision that called for an assessment of operations at the energy company in light of falling revenues, allegations of mismanagement and decreasing oil prices worldwide.

Minister of Energy and Energy Affairs, Franklin Khan, Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert, Minister of Planning and Development, Camille Robinson-Regis, Minister of Public Utilities, Robert Le Hunte, Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs and the Office of the Prime Minister, Stuart Young and Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Allyson West attended the meeting.

The members of Petrotrin's Board of Directors are: Wilfred Espinet (Chairman), Reynold Ajodhasingh (Deputy Chairman), Anthony Chan Tack, Nigel Edwards, Joel Harding, Selwyn Lashley, Eustace Nancis, Linda Rajpaul and Randhir Rampersad.