Left to right, US Embassy Deputy Public Affairs Officer, Naureen Nalia, Janelle Applewhite, Randyll Pandohie, Suzette Martin, US Embassy Acting Deputy Chief of Mission, Joseph FitzGerald, Laurielyse Girod-Williams, Lyndrison Lincoln and Shari Petti.

Six T&T nationals have been selected for 2020 Fulbright Scholarships through the United States Department of State’s Educational and Cultural Affairs Bureau.

The recipients are:

*Janelle Applewhite, Master in Education, Special Education-James Madison University

*Shari Petti, Master of Fine Arts, Film Production-Florida State University

*Laurielyse Girod-Williams, PhD in Electrical Engineering-University of California, Irvine

*Lyndrison Lincoln, PhD Economics-Southern Illinois University

*Randyll Pandohie, PhD Big Data Analytics-University of Central Florida

*Suzette Martin, Hubert H Humphrey Fellowship Program

Acting Deputy Chief of Mission Joseph FitzGerald met with the recipients at a pre-departure orientation session at the Embassy on Friday. The awardees will start their graduate-level programmes in the United States later this month in their required fields.

“Congratulations on your accomplishment and I know you will enjoy the experience even in these challenging times. I have no doubt when you return to Trinidad and Tobago you will implement great programs based on the knowledge gained,” FitzGerald told the scholars after they shared their expectations and plans.

Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 390,000 students worldwide with the opportunity to exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Led by the United States Government in partnership with 49 binational commissions and 160 countries worldwide, the Fulbright Program offers international educational and cultural exchange programs for passionate and accomplished students, scholars, artists, teachers, and professionals of all backgrounds to study, teach or pursue important research and professional projects.

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit https://eca.state.gov/ or our website https://tt.usembassy.gov