Terrence Deyalsingh

All recounts are done.

The recount of ballots and polls cards for St Joseph ended late on Monday night with the People’s National Movement (PNM) winning the seat, ending all recounts from last Monday’s General Election.

The PNM’s Terrence Deyalsingh has been returned as the MP.

The Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) yesterday released the results of the St Joseph recount and recounts in the four other seats which the Opposition United National Congress (UNC) had requested following the election that the PNM won by 22 seats to the UNC’s 19.

The Progressive Democratic Patriots’ (PDP’s) Watson Duke who had requested a recount in Tobago East conceded before the exercise was over.

Apart from St Joseph, the UNC had also sought recounts in San Fernando West, Toco Sangre Grande, La Horquetta and Tunapuna, all of which were all concluded before St Joseph.

The St Joseph recount was on since last weekend. The counting of the ballots and addressing alleged issues the UNC had queried were concluded by Monday afternoon and counting of polls cards which the UNC had also sought, ended just before midnight Monday.

On the outcome, UNC St Joseph candidate Ahloy Hunt told Guardian Media, “The people have spoken. All the ballots have been recounted showing the other party won.”

Hunt said he’d stay in politics, “most likely as an activist.”

UNC officials said “maybe” one of the defeated candidates may be appointed to serve in the Senate, but signalled it wouldn’t be any of those who contested a seat on the East-West corridor.