The membership of the United National Congress (UNC) will go to the polls on Sunday 6 December 2020, to decide which group of people will take the party forward for the next few years, in the scheduled National Executive Elections.

They also will determine whether Kamla Persad-Bissessar SC MP will helm the party, yet again, supported by the members of her Star Team executive; or whether challenger Vasant Bharath and his Team Lotus will be given the opportunity to take the UNC into the 2020s.

Voting will take place between the hours of 8:00 am and 6:00 pm.

The UNC’s Internal Elections Management Committee has made available a list of Polling Venues and Polling Stations—78 in total—in all 41 electoral constituencies in Trinidad and Tobago.

A special advisory to all UNC members concerning the upcoming election was signed off on by Chairman of the elections team, Ramesh Persad-Maharaj.

In addition, the Final Voters’ Lists were made available from 23 November 2020, at the UNC Head Office (Lot #26 Southern Main Road, Exchange Village, Couva), between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:00 pm.  The elections team says voters have up to Saturday 5 December 2020, to peruse the list and ensure they are able to cast their ballots on Sunday.

The party’s elections team also advises party members:

“All members who participate in these elections and in the activities regulated by the Rules, in particular candidates and electors, will be deemed to acknowledge and be regulated by the Rules.”

The elections team also is reminding voters of the regulations governing eligibility to vote—specifically Rule 6.1.1—outlined in the Manual and Rules for the National Executive Elections to be held on 6 December 2020 (Sunday).

All members whose names appear on the Final Voters’ Lists are eligible to vote at that constituency election venue provided such manner:

(i)  Is eligible to vote at a National Election

(ii)  Has not been deemed to be expelled by virtue of Clause 21(A) of the Party’s Constitution

(iii)  Has not been suspended from membership pending the investigation and determination of a disciplinary charge; and

(iv)  Does not appear on the List of Special Voters.

UNC Members also are reminded that as provided by Rule 6.2 of the Rules:

(a) Voters must produce a form of Photo Identification (National ID, Driver’s Permit or Passport) on Voting Day; and

(b) The possession of a Membership Card does not entitle an individual to vote. It is the responsibility of all members to ensure their eligibility to vote by confirming that their names are on the Final Voters’ List for their respective constituency.