Newly elected Chairman Ian Narine (left), and newly elected Deputy Chairman Anton Gopaulsingh (right), of the Board of The Trinidad and Tobago Stock Exchange Limited (TTSE). Image courtesy TTSE.

The Trinidad and Tobago Stock Exchange Limited (TTSE) has a new Chairman and a new Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors, effective May 20, 2021.

An official statement from the TTSE reports that Financial Consultant, Ian Narine, has been elected to the position of Chairman of the Board, with the stepping down of Ray A. Sumairsingh.  Mr Sumairsingh had served as chairman for the past five years, and will continue to serve as a Director on the TTSE Board, having first been appointed in April 2003.

Mr Sumairsingh’s successor, Ian Narine, was elected to the Board in May 2009, and has held the position of Deputy Chairman since 2016.

The TTSE statement observes that Mr Narine is uniquely positioned for the post of Chairman, having performed the role of Stockbroker at three different Member Firms. He also has held senior leadership positions across four Publicly Listed companies, and has over 25 years of experience in the financial services industry.

The TTSE says over the past ten years, Ian Narine has served as a Director of First Citizens Bank Limited, Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago Limited (TSTT), and the Investment Committee of the National Insurance Board. Mr. Narine currently is a Financial Consultant and works with a range of small and medium businesses and clients.

Ian Narine paid tribute to his predecessor as he assumed the mantle of TTSE Chairman:

“Mr Sumairsingh has been a longstanding member of the TTSE Board, and we extend our gratitude to him for his stellar service to the Organisation.  During his tenure as Chairman from 2016, Mr Sumairsingh played an instrumental role as a strategic and charismatic leader. He led the TTSE through significant strategic initiatives, notably, the implementation of a new trading and surveillance platform; the launch of our online trading platform, TOP; our move towards digitalization; and our rebranding and marketing initiatives. We thank him for his leadership and valuable counsel.”

The TTSE Board also elected a new Deputy Chairman—Anton Gopaulsingh—who has served as a Director for the past five years. 

The TTSE notes that Anton Gopaulsingh is a Finance and Risk Management expert, with more than twenty-five years’ experience in a broad range of accounting, technology and consulting roles across multiple industries and geographies.  He is a Non-Executive Director of Massy Holdings Limited and Readymix (West Indies) Limited. 

Anton Gopaulsingh has worked at the UK and Trinidad firms of Pricewaterhouse Coopers (PwC), and served as a Partner of PwC Trinidad up to 2013.  He has worked with a wide range of companies in the financial services sector in the UK and throughout the Caribbean, as well as companies in the energy sector and retail and manufacturing services in the Caribbean and Central America.

Both Ian Narine and Anton Gopaulsingh currently serve on the Board of Directors of the TTSE’s wholly owned subsidiary, the Trinidad and Tobago Central Depository Limited (TTCD).