Students in the Fashion Design programme at the University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT) are joining the national effort to produce face masks, to help reduce the risk of COVID-19 infection and transmission.

In an official statement published today, the UTT says the students will produce 1,000 masks specifically for frontline personnel. Another 5,000 will be distributed to staff and students at UTT, itself.

The official UTT statement on the issue, follows…


Image courtesy University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT).

The University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT) has noted the recent announcement made by the Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (GORTT) urging all persons to wear a face mask in public settings.

In light of this, the national University joins the ongoing efforts of the wider community in curbing the spread of the COVID-19 virus and has engaged in the production of 6,000 face masks.

As part of its corporate social responsibility, UTT will donate 1,000 face masks to frontline personnel, with the remainder being distributed to students and staff of the University.

This initiative is being undertaken by final year students of the Bachelor of Fine Arts (B.F.A.) in Fashion Design, graduates of the B.F.A Programme and Instructors of UTT’s Caribbean Academy of Fashion and Design (CAFD), who have all willingly stepped up to the challenge of responding to the pandemic by contributing their time and talent.

The distribution of face masks will begin on Wednesday 15th April, 2020 at all UTT campuses. The University takes this opportunity to extend a heartfelt thank you to all frontline medical personnel and essential workers, who continue to go beyond the call of duty to ensure the safety of our health and well-being during this period.

As UTT continues to navigate the evolving COVID-19 pandemic, we also thank the entire UTT learning community for their continued support and demonstration of resilience in the face of uncertainty, and will continue to provide flexible learning opportunities for all students at our national University.